API Noob Here: Getting public info via API v2

Hey all,

I’m developing a static site and I want to pull in some extremely basic data. This is my first rodeo with API, aside from figuring out how to pull in Twitch API. I have been wrestling with the Patreon API for two months now, and I must be missing something critical that I can’t glean from the docs.

What I’m trying to do first before I do anything else is just figure out the URL I’m supposed to be calling. I want to get number of patrons and total amount pledged to start with, so I can display it on my website. Once I can do that, I’ll expand to something more complex.

1. I am, at the moment, using straight javascript on localhost while I develop. So no libraries, PHP, etc.
  2. I will work on environment variables/security measures/etc etc after I get the basic stuff working and I know that I’m on the right track.

Since there will be no sign in on the website, unless I’m mistaken, there’s no reason to go through the OAuth process. I just use my access token from the client I received. I just want to pull in variables that have nothing to do with who is signed in.

As of right now, I’m just trying to put the URL into the browser to see if I can get an authorized JSON response. I have also tried doing this through XMLHttpRequest in Javascript, and I’ve also tried using Postman. Note: I’m also a javascript noob and I’m learning as I go, but I’ve got a decent handle on it. (This is all kind of my learning project!)

From what I understand, I’d be calling…

https://www.patreon.com/api/oauth2/v2/campaigns/#####?fields[campaign]=pledge_sum,patron_count
(where ##### = campaign_id)

…but of course that’s unauthorized, because there’s no access token.

So, I suppose my questions are:

1. Do I have to go through the OAuth process every time, even though no one is logging in? The API docs say you can use your access_token in place of OAuth when making API calls, but does not make it clear how to do so.