Access "pledges-to-me" (or similar scope) without public profile information?

Hi there, I’m new to the Patreon API and I’m using the Patreon PHP code to create a simple OAuth login to a web app. The app only needs to know the current tier level of the user. Nothing else.

It’s working well, but I have a question about scopes.

Following the basic example in codebase, I use only the “identity” scope. This appears to currently be the most limited scope - ie. returning the least information about the user. If I don’t specify it explicitly, it is assumed. The person logging in with this scope sees the following prompt from Patreon:

[Creator] would like to…

• View your public profile

Allow / Deny

For this application, and I’d assume for other apps wishing to minimise access to private data, I only want to see the current tier level. So I’m discarding all the user information and only checking if patron_status === 'active_patron' and the amount in currently_entitled_amount_cents to determine the person’s tier level.

The problem is that the wording “Creator would like to view your public profile” understandably makes some users feel I’m requesting additional data to impinge on their privacy.

Seeing as I only need pledge data - tier level - is there a way to request a more limited set of data with the API?

The docs show that APIv1 offered a “pledges-to-me” scope. They suggest using “identity.memberships” in v2 as the equivalent.

Doing so produces a new prompt which says:

[Creator] would like to…

• View your pledges

Allow / Deny

According to other pages in the Patreon docs and the wording in the prompt, that’s all their pledges (including to other creators) and not pledges to me. That’s more information than I need, and appears to contradict what’s stated in the screenshot above (taken from Patreon docs).

Ideally, what I would like the prompt to say is:

[Creator] would like to…

• View your pledge

Allow / Deny

or

[Creator] would like to…