Concealing API key for offline apps?

Hey! I’m Sam, I make projects like the Desktop Goose.
I’d love to integrate patreon into my projects by allowing users to connect their accounts using the OAuth API and providing specific features/experiences conditional on their support.
Seems like a pretty awful idea to just plop the secret key and do the authentication client-side, given how easy it is to decompile.
I also have zilch web experience. So total newbie question: Is there a good possible way to securely make a microservice to authenticate Patreon users, while concealing the API tokens/keys from the client? Is there an existing service I can use that already does something similar?

Thanks a ton,
Sam

You would need some way to authenticate/idenfity the offline app in some way. So either you have the token saved in the offline map, or the app itself has its own key which authenticates it to an authentication service, which then allows access to the api token to contact Patreon.

Another alternative is to regularly have the user go through a smooth login via Patreon process (like how WP plugin implements) and then copy in the patronage info of the user to use it locally.

But in any case, you will eventually have to authenticate the local desktop app to Patreon in order to allow user access to patron only content. Otherwise the local copies of the patronage info could allow user infinite access to online or local content.

Thanks so much for your response!
Would it make sense to have the offline app open a ‘login with patreon’ web interface, which after a successful login, sends the user’s oauth token back to the app to be cached on their local machine?

Then use that for API calls, without exposing my secret keys.
Edit: No, I’d need to expose the refresh token which is also supposed to be secret. Hm. Alright, no easy way out of this one.