Looking For Some Tech Advice for the use-case

Hey Guys,

My name is Shred, and I’m building a product in the voice-first platform for creators. I read through the documentation, and I wasn’t certain about the use-case [1] (listed below).

And I’m inclined to use Patreon APIs for the following use-cases:

[1] Subscription: Would like to add/subscribe users as ‘Patrons’ for creators via the voice-apps (Alexa, Google Actions)
[2] Authentication: for the subscribers to be able to access the gated ‘Patreon-only’ content

Can someone please help with [1], and see if this is something that’s possible at this point?

Thank you so much, guys. And sorry for the trouble (I’m a noob in Patreon API world).

Best,
Shred

1 Like

As far as i know, for 1), you will need to be able to link different creators to different campaigns in your app(s).

So that when a visitor clicks unlock with Patreon on a piece of content, they will be directed to the relevant campaign of that particular creator.

You can also use the universal unlock flow which the WordPress plugin uses. It takes users to Patreon to pledge, login/register if they havent, and then redirects back to original content.

There you can do a check for patronage of user to that relevant campaign(creator) and then unlock the content if the pledge is matching the tier.

1 Like

Hey there,

Thank you so much. I will take a look at the suggested option. Since it’s a voice-first (and voice-only) interaction, adding buttons will not be an option. All the heavy work (payload), would be sent via APIs from our client apps to creator’s campaign in Patreon. Including new patreons. Not sure if this is something that’s possible at this point in time :confused:

Let me know if you have any thoughts, and thank you once again for your time :slight_smile:

Best,
Shred

Anyways, let me go throguh

Well it doesnt need to be a button. However you can trigger the mechanism to check the API for an identified user would work.